Connect with us

Social & Entertainment

WhatsApp now lets you mute & message participants during group calls.

Published

on

The app will also notify you when someone joins a call after it has already begun.

WhatsApp introduced numerous new features, including the option to mute certain participants during group calls this past week. This sanity-saving functionality appears to be useful not only to mute the individuals who unintentionally forget to do so. But also aids in refraining from hearing the odd echo of the voices of the people who are in the same room as you during the call.

While some apps like Zoom and Microsoft Teams among other conferencing apps, allow hosts to silence (mute) all or particular participants, most don’t allow individual users to mute whoever they wish to during the calling session. This function provides a new degree of control that’s probably best reserved for frantic meetings with up to eight individuals on video calls or 32 on audio conversations.

Some new features for group calls on @WhatsApp: You can now mute or message specific people on a call (great if someone forgets to mute themselves!), and we’ve added a helpful indicator so you can more easily see when more people join large calls. pic.twitter.com/fxAUCAzrsy -Will Cathcart (@wcathcart)

WhatsApp now also lets you message specific people while on a group call

In addition to the new muting tool, WhatsApp also allows you to message particular people while being on a group call. It is useful if you need to send a note to someone during a meeting or crack a joke that won’t go over well with everyone on the call. WhatsApp is also introducing a new banner that will notify you when someone joins a call after it has already begun.

The messaging service is expanding its capabilities beyond the group calling function. WhatsApp on Friday announced that you can now specify which contacts may view your profile photo, about, and last seen status that indicates when you were last active on the network. This might assist keep your profile hidden from professional contacts or anybody you don’t want to have access to it 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Due to possible privacy concerns, WhatsApp began concealing your last viewed status from outsiders by default last year.

WhatsApp officially allowed Android users to move their chat history to iPhone earlier this week. It came after the firm first allowed users to transfer their conversation data in a reverse manner (from iPhone to Android) last year.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending

Copyright © 2023 Futurfeed